“Eat, Fast and Live”

I watched a very interesting documentary last night on OPB (Oregon Public Broadcasting) about research being done on “fasting”.  Michael Moseley investigated research being done at the National Institute on Aging in Baltimore studying the effects of fasting on our bodies and health.  I was blown away.  All you foodies who have been living a healthy lifestyle may already know how good fasting is for you, but this was news to me.  The results from these studies reveal that fasting for 4 consecutive days a month, or fasting for 2 days and eating normally on the next 5 days, or a regime of fasting every other day leads to huge health improvements.  And, on a fasting day, you eat one meal of 500 calories for women and 600 calories for men, so you do get one small meal on a fasting day.  I mean, that doesn’t sound hard, does it?  But the health benefits are mind blowing.

Researchers are finding that this fasting lifestyle diet eliminates metabolic heart disease, cancer, type-2 Diabetes, obesity, Alzheimer’s disease and leads to a substantially longer lifespan.  Researchers found that stopping nearly all food intake for short periods of time triggers a protection mechanism with the brain, which goes into “survival mode”.  What showed up in this survival mode was that cells actually started “fixing themselves”.  Chemicals involved in the growth of brain cells are significantly boosted when food intake is dramatically reduced.  Brain cells were shown to actually start fixing themselves and GROWING new brain cells.  Wow.   Good news for me, since I watched my father go from a laughing, happy and loving man to a wasted shell, sitting in a wheel chair and not knowing me or my mother.

I would just love to live a dramatically longer life.  But just the thought of living with no disease, and no Alzheimer’s Disease says it all for me.  I started my first day of a 2 – day fast, and this will now be my lifestyle.  5-2, here I come.

I just read my facebook post on  some of this new research, and not one friend or relative commented, liked, or acknowledged anything about this.  Not even a question.  Hmmm, I guess I will be the only one trying to have awesome health and live longer,,, as I bury them, and that’s okay.  People choose to smoke, drink Coke, eat sugar, eat the chemicals put in their food, and eat genetically modified garbage.  Hmmm, well, I can choose to live well, eat well, and not pop pills for arthritis, heart disease, cancer, diabetes or Alzheimer’s disease.  You would think that everyone would want to choose these things and live longer.  

So, I’m trying to understand this…I know what it is now.  It is so much EASIER to eat crap.  I forgot how easy it is to stop at McDonalds, Pizza Hut, and Arby’s.  I forgot how easy it is to pop a frozen dinner in the microwave. I forgot how addicting sugar is, but how good it tastes when you don’t care.  Sorry folks, I just forgot…Yeah, now I am spending a LOT of time grocery shopping for organic produce and grass fed meat with no antibiotics or hormones or GMO feed.  I am spending more time in my kitchen chopping produce, cooking and making sure my family eats well, as much as they will let me.  But you know what?  I lost 8 lbs. in one week eating like this.  And…this is before I am starting the 5-2 fasting lifestyle.  I am NOT dieting.  I am NOT eating garbage.  THAT is the difference.  Over the past year, I have lost 44 pounds without even trying.  I actually wasn’t trying.  I was just trying to NOT eat all the food items I am allergic to.  That process took me to Paleo and Primal Eating, which is how I lost 8 lbs. in one week.  I still wasn’t trying to lose weight.  When you eat healthy, organic food and lose the sugar and grain, amazing things happen to your body.  I am not hungry, I have more energy, I look GREAT by the way, and I bought a size 4 jeans today.  I used to wear size 14 a couple of years ago.  How’s that for feeling good about yourself?  Also, people thing I’m 50 when I’m actually 63.  THAT my friends makes me feel WONDERFUL.  Maybe this healthy lifestyle does have some bennies.  My husband is certainly enjoying the results…

About rhondasblogs

I am a retired grandma who loves to craft, hand-quilt, antique and thrift store shop, and upcycle found treasures. And...always looking to try new art media. I love gardening using eclectic ideas and vintage pieces, with green natural products. I am Paleo and try to eat pure and allergy free, searching recipes, revising and substituting ingredients to fit my restricted diet; gluten, dairy, and egg free, including some nuts. I try to live green and organic, slowly dragging my family along with me.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Eat, Fast and Live”

  1. dennie2356 says:

    Hi-
    Thanks for stopping by my blog-I’m glad you did—I really like yours and I envy your crafting abilities….I can barely sew a button on a shirt-nor do I want to!
    I love vintage, antiques and thrifting, and my husband and I try to eat healthy and well—although we aren’t always successful-killed a (what used to be half gallon) of Turkey Hill Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough between us in one sitting over the weekend.
    The fasting thing sounds interesting and I’m going to research it a bit more. I wonder about the survival mode . It seems as if if would be like running a car on no gas or oil.
    Good luck with everything. I’ll be following .
    Dennie

Leave a Reply

