About The Will Reed House – National Registry Of Historic Homes

The Will Reed House in Alleene, Arkansas is on the National Registry of Historic Homes and contains not only antique Reed family heirlooms, but is also a museum containing other local donated items with historical significance to the area.  It is maintained by the community from donations and a trust set up by the deceased grandson, Marshall Reed.  Will and Molly Reed owned this home that originally sat farther from town by a creek.  It was moved to town and set up as a museum for the area. Will Reed was a coffin maker and there are many logging antiques in the barn, also moved onto the site of the museum, behind the Reed cabin.  I love that it contains the old barred post office window inside, from the 1800’s, still used in the general store until the 70’s when it was added to the museum historical treasures.  I remember going into the general store when I was growing up and seeing it inside still being used as the local post office.  There was an old wood stove with a wood table and two chairs.  Every day you could find men in farmer overalls playing dominoes.  I will always remember that sight and the nostalgia it brought, imagining days long gone now, replaced by a community center as the hub of activity in that little town.  My dad courted my mother, sitting in a swing on the porch of this cabin.  I am so glad this heritage has been preserved and my children and grandchildren, and hopefully many generations to come, can see how simple life used to be.

The pictures below show the Reed cabin, painted by a local artist, V. Ledbetter in 1990 and given to my father, Will and Molly Reed’s grandson.  The framed doily was hand-crocheted by a friend and given to my mother.  The picture is Troy Reed and Lorene Sain-Reed when they were married in 1946.

About rhondasblogs

I am a retired grandma who loves to craft, hand-quilt, antique and thrift store shop, and upcycle found treasures. And...always looking to try new art media. I love gardening using eclectic ideas and vintage pieces, with green natural products. I am Paleo and try to eat pure and allergy free, searching recipes, revising and substituting ingredients to fit my restricted diet; gluten, dairy, and egg free, including some nuts. I try to live green and organic, slowly dragging my family along with me.
This entry was posted in Ancestry Tracking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

