Some Family Heirlooms

The stainless steel coffee pot was my Grandfather’s, from the early sixty’s.  My grandparents were a big part of my life.  They lived in a house with my aunt and uncle just two doors down from us in Southern Calif.  The white milk glass set was bought by my mother in the late fifty’s and includes a tea/coffee dessert set with the little plates made to hold the cup, along with the dessert.  I will be using this later in a vignette post.  The green glass set on the top shelf of my hutch was bought in 1971, at the Base Exchange in Taipei, Taiwan.  The BX was used by all the military branches, and all the families lived off post in the Chinese communities.  The green plate settings on the bottom was bought in 1965-67.  A salesman came by the house and sold them to my mom, for me.  Each month, a place setting was billed and shipped to us.  I have kept these dishes all these years, and never used them one time.  They have a gold rim on each piece, hand painted white flower design, and are bone china.  With all the moving I have done in my life, I am always surprised they have survived intact.  I love the beautiful color, and have promised them to my daughter.  I will be using all these pieces in vignettes as I create new posts, to highlight some of the things I think are beautiful and that I love.

About rhondasblogs

I am a retired grandma who loves to craft, hand-quilt, antique and thrift store shop, and upcycle found treasures. And...always looking to try new art media. I love gardening using eclectic ideas and vintage pieces, with green natural products. I am Paleo and try to eat pure and allergy free, searching recipes, revising and substituting ingredients to fit my restricted diet; gluten, dairy, and egg free, including some nuts. I try to live green and organic, slowly dragging my family along with me.
This entry was posted in Antiques and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

