Burlap Valance and Wrapped Wire Hanger Tutorial

Measure the length and width of your window, matching the measurements on the burlap fabric and adding 6 inches (or more if you want a bigger rod pocket) to the length for a fold-over rod pocket.  Pull a strand of fabric at the width and (new) length measurement sites and remove the threads.  This creates the perfect cutting line.  Cut your rectangle on the cutting lines, then I created a half inch fringe all around by pulling out the edge threads (no hemming needed).  Fold over and iron the extra 6 inches at the top of length to create the rod pocket.  I used iron on tape about 1.5 inches from the fold to fit my tension rod through the pocket.  Just make sure you leave enough room to fit your rod.  You can sew this rod line instead if you want.  The fringe on the hanging 6 inches at the top of the valance is a nice touch.

To make the wrapped wire hangers, I started with a black craft wire in a medium gage (see the close-up picture). Decide on your hanger length, depending on how low you want the valance to hang, and add about 10 inches for bending the ends into a hook shape.  It’s hard to mess this part up, really.  I think my kitchen hanger was a total of 24 inches.  Don’t cut the wire.  Bend the wire at the 24 inch measurement so you have 2 strands, then bend again to make 3 strands for your bundle.  Don’t cut yet, but start wrapping the wire around and around the bundle of 3 strands you just made until you get to the end, and then you cut the wire.  Easy, really.  I used my wire tools from a jewelry making kit, but you can use your fingers or a small pliers.  I used my arm to bend each end into a hook for a “C” shape, one end at the top and the other holding up the rolled burlap bottom.  For privacy, you can unroll the burlap for a closed curtain.

About rhondasblogs

I am a retired grandma who loves to craft, hand-quilt, antique and thrift store shop, and upcycle found treasures. And...always looking to try new art media. I love gardening using eclectic ideas and vintage pieces, with green natural products. I am Paleo and try to eat pure and allergy free, searching recipes, revising and substituting ingredients to fit my restricted diet; gluten, dairy, and egg free, including some nuts. I try to live green and organic, slowly dragging my family along with me.
This entry was posted in crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

