Little Three Drawer Chest

I found the little three drawer chest at Goodwill for $6.99.  It was homemade and someone didn’t want it any more.  I stained it, and here’s my secret…I used Old English Scratch Cover For Dark Woods. It took about 12 hours to dry, but since the wood was unfinished, the lovely stained oil worked beautifully.  It is impossible to make a mistake with this stain treatment, but only on unfinished wood.  It soaked right in and left a very nice finish without sealing it like a lacquer finish.  I lived in Taipei, Taiwan in 1971, and this is how their beautiful teak furniture was finished.  Simple and soft looking, without a shine. I love the way it turned out.Image

About rhondasblogs

I am a retired grandma who loves to craft, hand-quilt, antique and thrift store shop, and upcycle found treasures. And...always looking to try new art media. I love gardening using eclectic ideas and vintage pieces, with green natural products. I am Paleo and try to eat pure and allergy free, searching recipes, revising and substituting ingredients to fit my restricted diet; gluten, dairy, and egg free, including some nuts. I try to live green and organic, slowly dragging my family along with me.
Aside | This entry was posted in Thrifty Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

